Need a Bike?


Click Here to Apply for a Free Bicycle


Our volunteers collect donated bikes, rehab those bikes, and distribute them (along with free helmets) to people who need them.  


To be eligible for a free bike and helmet you must meet the following criteria:

     
 Under 18 years old, not able to afford to purchase a bike on your own, and willing to complete an online bike safety course as described below


        or

       ● 18 or older, do not have access to reliable transportation, need a bike to get to work or school, not able to afford to purchase a bike on your own, and willing to complete an online bike safety course as described below.


​​We distribute our bikes through a network of community partners. ​If you need a bike, please complete our online application using the button at the bottom of this page. During the application process you will be asked to designate one our community partners to review and process your application. Our community partners are:


​Camp Haven, Inc.
3256 US-1 
Vero Beach, FL 32960
Email: Chuck Bradley
Phone:  (772) 999-3625
Contact: chuckb@camphaven.net

Crossover Mission
1965 42nd Ave, Vero Beach, FL 32960
Email: khanley@crossovermission.com
Phone: (772) 257-5400
Contact: Kim Hanley

​​Gifford Youth Achievement Center
4875 43rd Avenue, Vero Beach, FL 32967
Email: bpearce@gyac.net
Phone: (772) 794-1005
Contact: Barbara Pearce

Homeless Children's Foundation
6001 Hwy A1A - PMB 8071
Indian River Shores, FL 32963
Email: Hannah@HCFIRC.com

Phone: (772) 532-1139

Contact: Hannah Hite, Executive Director

​The Hope for Families Center, Inc.
720 4th Street, Vero Beach, FL 32962
Email: fmason@hopeforfamiliescenter.org
Phone:  (772) 567-5537 ext.341
Contact:  France Mason

The Mental Health Collaborative of Indian River County
2345 14th Avenue, Suite 5
Vero Beach, Florida 32960
Phone: (772) 217-3663
Email:  poliver@mhcollaborative.net
Contact: Patricia Oliver

​NAACP, Indian River Chapter
Phone: (404) 771-3575
Email: bustason@yahoo.com
Contact: Tony Brown

The Salvation Army
2655 5th Street SW
Vero Beach, FL 32962
Email: Promeese.Lucas@uss.salvationarmy.org
Phone: (772) 978-0265 Ext 109
Contact: Promeese Lucas

Senior Resource Association, Inc. 
694 14th Street 
Vero Beach, FL. 32960 
Email: ewilcox@sramail.org
Phone: (772) 569-0760 Ext 206 
Contact:  Emily Wilcox

The Source
1015 Commerce Ave 
Vero Beach, FL 32960
Phone:(772) 564-0202
Email: tony.zorbaugh@iamthesource.org
Contact: Tony Zorbaugh
Alternate Contact: Maureen Archer (ext 202) maureen.archer@iamthesource.org

United Against Poverty
1400 27th Street
Vero Beach, FL 32960
Email: Jane@UnitedAgainstPoverty.org
Phone: (772) 562-5429 ext. 209
Contact: Jane McNulty Snead, Crisis Stabilization Manager

The West Wabasso Cemetery, Association, Inc.
PO Box 700462
Wabasso, FL 32970
Email: whinton@eocofirc.net
Phone: (772) 410-9965
Contact: Wanda Hinton

Youth Guidance Mentoring Academy
1028 20th Pl # B-1
Vero Beach, FL 32960
Email: hforde@youthguidanceprogram.org
Phone: (772) 492-3933
Contact:  Holly Forde​​

Vero Beach Rotary Oceanside
Email:  colleen.jennings85@gmail.com
Phone:  (772) 559-8125
Contact: Colleen Jennings


​​​​​Once one of our community partners receives your application, they will evaluate it and, if you qualify, they will invite you to take either our online Adult Bike Safety Course or, for kids 12 and under, our online Kids Bike Safety Course.  Both courses are available through this website and are free. The safety courses present a series of bike safety videos with each video followed by one or more multiple choice questions.  

​Once you complete the safety course, you will receive an email confirming your completion of the course. At that point, if the community partner you selected has notified us that they have received and approved your online application for a free bike, one of our volunteers will contact you to make arrangements to meet you at our warehouse to receive your free bike and helmet.  

Our warehouse is located at 1175 Commerce Ave, Vero Beach, FL 32960 behind Orchid Island Bikes and Kayaks. BWIRC volunteers will be on hand to assist you in adjusting your helmet and bike so that they both fit you properly. They will also help you with any other adjustments your new (to you) bike may need to make it as safe and comfortable as possible.​  

Please note that our warehouse is only open by appointment.​


Click Here to Apply for a Free Bicycle